RESOLUTION OF THE REGIONAL UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF OKLAHOMA AFFIRMING NORTHEASTERN STATE UNIVERSITY'S COMMITMENT TO TAHLEQUAH, OKLAHOMA

WHEREAS, Northeastern State University has been an integral part of the City of Tahlequah, Oklahoma, since its founding, serving as a cornerstone of higher education, economic development, and community engagement; and

WHEREAS, as early as 1846, the Cherokee National Female Seminary was founded in Tahlequah, making the school the oldest institution of higher learning in Oklahoma; and

WHEREAS, the school's history as a state institution began in 1909, when the Oklahoma legislature purchased the Seminary and created Northeastern State Normal School; and

WHEREAS, a decade later, the school was transformed into Northeastern State Teacher's College, offering a four-year curriculum leading to a bachelor's degree; and

WHEREAS, the name was subsequently changed to Northeastern State College and ultimately, as it is known today, Northeastern State University (NSU); and

WHEREAS, the Oklahoma legislature has specifically recognized the location of NSU in Tahlequah in both 70 O.S. §3503 and 70 O.S. §3513; **WHEREAS**, NSU remains steadfast in its commitment to providing accessible, high-quality education to the citizens of Tahlequah and the surrounding region, supporting workforce development and lifelong learning opportunities; and

WHEREAS, while Tahlequah serves as the main campus of NSU, the university also operates a satellite campus in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma and Muskogee, Oklahoma to expand educational opportunities further and enhance regional accessibility; and

WHEREAS, the Regional University System of Oklahoma (RUSO) is composed of six universities—East Central University in Ada, Northwestern Oklahoma State University in Alva, Southeastern Oklahoma State University in Durant, the University of Central Oklahoma in Edmond, Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford, and Northeastern State University in Tahlequah—each serving as vital institutions in their respective communities; and

WHEREAS, in addition to the six main campuses, the Regional University System of Oklahoma operates nine satellite campuses across the state, reinforcing the mission of providing affordable, high-quality education while strengthening the long-term stability of the main campuses; and

WHEREAS, the presence of these satellite campuses plays a crucial role in expanding access to higher education, ensuring that students across Oklahoma have the opportunity to pursue academic and professional advancement close to home;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Regional University System of Oklahoma affirms Northeastern State University's enduring commitment to Tahlequah, Oklahoma, recognizing its foundational role in the community and its contributions to the region's educational and economic vitality; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Regional University System of Oklahoma acknowledges and supports NSU's strategic presence in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, as part of its broader mission to serve students and communities throughout the state; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Regional University System of Oklahoma reaffirms its dedication to strengthening the presence and impact of all six regional universities and their satellite campuses, ensuring continued access to high-quality, affordable education for the people of Oklahoma.

ADOPTED by the Regional University System of O	Oklahoma thisday of, 2025.
Regent Jane McDermott, Chair	Dr. Brandon Tatum, CEO
Regional University System of Oklahoma	Regional University System of Oklahoma